WhatsApp introduces posted message delete option

0
114
What's up
Advertisement

The new option allows a user to “delete messages for everyone” in a chat within seven minutes of sending it.

The long-awaited feature has finally arrived on the world’s most popular messaging app. WhatsApp users will finally have the option to delete potentially embarrassing messages after they’ve sent them.

The world’s most popular messaging app has finally added the feature that users have been clamoring for – and it couldn’t be simpler. The new option allows you to “delete messages for everyone” in a chat within seven minutes of sending it – so you’ve got to be quick if you have a change of heart.

WhatsApp has been testing the feature for some time and is now rolling it out to its user base of one billion people. “Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*).

Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone,” the company announced in a blog post .

How to delete a WhatsApp message

Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you wish to delete. Tap and hold the message. Optionally, tap more messages to delete multiple messages at once.

Tap Delete at the top of the screen > Delete for everyone.

However In order to be able to delete a message, you will have to have the latest version of WhatsApp installed on your iPhone or Android device. What’s more, the recipients will also have to have the latest version installed.

WhatsApp cautions that your friends may still read your message before it’s deleted. And, of course, they can always screengrab it before you’re able to banish it to the digital netherworld.

Though, the option is a huge bonus to the messaging service. Never will you have to suffer an awkward WhatsApp moment again.

Advertisement
Loading...

LEAVE A REPLY